‘A Conjuring of Light’ – Review

As always V.E. Schwab has blown me away. Don’t get me wrong, the Shades of Magic series has not changed my life in any drastic way, I didn’t read each book within twenty four hours of buying them whether or not it made my eyes bleed, and (unlike usual) I’m not throwing myself into a rabid tumblr fandom surrounding the series. Nonetheless, I love these books immensely, they read like old, familiar friends, and Conjuring of Light was no different.

img_1964
Anyone who has read the series will know Lila Bard would LOVE this mug

A Conjuring of Light picked up exactly where A Gathering of Shadows left off (with the Antari Kell being lured into the Shadow King’s trap) keeping the pace of the second book and letting it’s momentum fling the story right into the final conflict of the series. Sadly though, the magical shenanigans of the second book were left there and the world is thrown into a dark and realistic seriousness. I loved it.

Thankfully, the magic of the series finally cropped up with some more limitations and it made the whole thing feel a bit more realistic to me. Though I found it easy to read and pleasant to think about before, the idea of Kell and Holland’s Antari magic being almost limitless left me somewhat irked and unimpressed. Thankfully, in the throes of the final challenge magic begins to falter and comes to rely on some artifacts rather than blood which I found quite interesting. Sadly it wasn’t explored much further, but in 666 pages (spooky) Schwab packed so much in that I can forgive her for leaving some stones unturned.

My father has a theory about endings which I intend to bore you with right now. His theory goes that there are British Endings and American Endings. American Endings couple up with the American hero, the dystopian government is overthrown, the hero grows old in a fresh, new world (See The Hunger Games). British Endings are much more nihilistic, every act of rebellion was futile, the fight was lost, the “hero” focuses on their own survival rather than the greater good (See 1984). Conjuring settles somewhere comfortably between the two for me.

My reviews of anything by Schwab are always painfully short because I have serious trouble finding any fault with her books. If anyone has found fault please tell me, I’m obviously blinded by adoration.

Leave a Reply

