My 2017 Must-Reads

Admittedly this post is coming a bit late, but these things are difficult to choose! I’ve been rifling through all my SFF trying to find what to read this year, so here goes.

 

Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake

This looks amazing. From what I’ve heard the story follows three sisters all at war for their nations crown, engaged in a fight to the death. Not only am I excited about reading some great women in fantasy, I’m loving that they’re the ones after the throne, fingers crossed for no love interests though (if it happens I won’t be too sad, but at this point it’s becoming lazy writing).

The Dispossessed  – Ursula K Le Guin 

51ufzuy12bl-_sy344_bo1204203200_This is self-explanatory really, Le Guin is a titan amongst SF writers and must be read at all costs. At this point I have only read one of Le Guin’s books, but it has stuck with me and I can ignore the siren song of the Hainish Cycle no longer. Given that Le Guin herself said there wasn’t much order to the books I figured I would read the bigger titles first (just to brag) then move into the less well known books, even though the less well known titles are still drowning in awards.

A Gathering of Shadows – V.E. Schwab

The first book in this series, A Darker Shade of Magic just blew my mind, so here we are, I’m hooked! My only regret is that I only recently managed to buy it and still have yet to read it. Hopefully it lives up to the last book, and hopefully I’ve guessed everything right because I love it when that happens.

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff 

23395680From what I can tell this book is the story of two people communicating after being forced to evacuate their home planet on different ships. The form of this is what really drew me to it, the idea of the transmissions between them making up the bulk of the text is essentially what I am writing in my dissertation so I really need to give this one a read before the assignment is due! Hopefully I’ll have a new SF YA series to latch onto because since the end of The Lunar Chronicles I have been desperate!

Dawn – Octavia Butler

51klo3pcd-l-_sx311_bo1204203200_The first book in the Xenogenesis series has cropped up in a lot of my studies of SF and considering I need significantly more female SF authors (especially non-white female SF authors) Butler seemed to cry out to me to be read. Hopefully I’ll be able to find the trilogy separately though as all of the covers of the compendium seem a bit suggestive, which I am much too shy for.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet – Becky Chambers 

I bought this a while ago because I was seeing it absolutely everywhere, and once again, my need for more female authors took me over. This book has received some great reviews and even though my knowledge of classic SF needs some serious work I want to keep up with more modern reads as well, lest I slip into writing the overly masculine stuff from the 50s and 60s.

51hys6odagl-_sx323_bo1204203200_The Shepherd’s Crown – Terry Pratchett

This one will be a hard one for me to read. Pratchett is really the reason I’m here now writing about SFF and reading so much of it, and more specifically his character Tiffany Aching is what began a life-long obsession with witches and his works. I’m not entirely sure if I will manage to read this one this year, since it was released I have been making attempts but I am a little scared for this wonderful adventure to end. But this year I will definitely try.

 

Hopefully these will have all been reviewed on here by this time next year.

 

Leave a Reply

