To Boldly Go

Hi, my name is Jess and I’m going to use this blog to record my budding obsession with science fiction mostly in literature, but also in film and tv. So I suppose I’ll tell you a little about myself and what I like about science fiction (hereafter to be referred to as SF because I am all about typing fast) and why.

amoktime7

I suppose you could say – though I probably shouldn’t – that my father has always been a bit of a nerd when it comes to things like Star Trek and Star Wars and Battlestar Galactica, basically anything with the word star in it. And as much as I resisted it did eventually rub off on me, and by time I got to university (studying literature and creative writing) it was enough to convince me to take the SF module for literature. And it was there, in those hallowed half of learning, that I found two big names I previously wasn’t that into: Ursula K Le Guin, and John Wyndham.

The Day of the Triffids and The Left Hand of Darkness opened me up to a whole host of wonderful SF that I am still trying to work my way through. My collections of both authors have expanded but I have also collected quite a bit of Asimov, Wells, and become a great fan of Philip K Dick. Most of what I post here will be my thoughts on these SF books, probably with a little fantasy mixed in.

uklbymwk-280x347
Urula K Le Guin

Considering this is what I study there won’t always only be reviews, I have a lot of thoughts about science fiction and fantasy (SFF) that I want to discuss in general, most recently I’ve been reading up on environment and food in SFF as it is relevant to my dissertation, but if that doesn’t interest you I’ll be sure to tag the critical stuff and the review stuff separately so that no one learns anything by accident, not that I assume anyone will really be reading. This won’t exactly be a professional blog, more a way to keep my thoughts in order and generally rant because I am virtually friendless! (That’s not true but not many of my friends are as into SF as me so I am forced to annoy the internet with my thoughts and woes.)

Welcome to my awful blog!

Live Long and Prosper!

Leave a Reply

